Professor Nader "Welcome to the URealms Forums! Please make sure to read the rules before posting!
Your posting ability may be restricted for the first 24 hours!"

Professor Otterseed's Tips and Talks about Story Writing and Character Writing

Hello everyone,

A quick disclaimer for everyone. I'm not a real professor but I do have a diploma in Motion Picture Arts and a big part of that is script writing in the pre-production stage of making movies/tv shows.

Now when writing any normal story it is just the responsibility of the writer(s) to establish the setting, the characters, the plot, the journey for the characters, and the main message you're trying to tell in your story which is a really important part of writing the story because your message is usually always the answer to the question you should ask yourself before writing a story; Why? Why are you writing about this particular thing? Why is it important? Why should you tell this story?

In Star Wars: The Last Jedi the main message or theme of the movie was failure. Hardly any of the characters accomplished their goals and nothing really got accomplished. In Django Unchained the main message for that movie was freedom for obvious and not as obvious reasons. Now the discussion isn't about film analysis so I'll stop with the examples.

Now for writing for role-playing games like Urealms, the responsibility for telling the story is split between the GM and the players but before we get into that let me give a quick explanation of the 12 steps of the hero's journey.

The Hero's Journey is a template of story telling that is used in almost every story. It contains 3 acts (1, 2A, 2B, 3) and each act contains 3 steps. Today I will just talk about Act 1.