Professor Nader "Welcome to the URealms Forums! Please make sure to read the rules before posting!
Your posting ability may be restricted for the first 24 hours!"

[Tutorial] How to make custom maps

edited May 2017 in Custom Maps
Hi, i've seen a few people on this forum that want to make their own custom maps but think it is too difficult. That's why i wanted to create this tutorial to get people started.

The first thing i want to say is that i'm not an artist and you don't need to be either to make cool looking maps. Heck, i couldn't draw something nice if my life depended on it. I'll be using Photoshop for this tutorial but you could also use the free tool GIMP (link). It should be pretty easy to follow along, as i won't be using more than a few basic tools. Now, let's get started. :) 

Overview

The canvas
Color
Creating a basic layout
Filling up your map with custom assets
Creating your own assets

The Canvas

When you create a new photoshop project (File > New... ) you will see a window like this:

You want to copy all these settings, to get the right size for your map. When you hit 'Ok' you should see a white rectangle and one background layer in the layers panel (Bottom right).

edit: Meganzoor just gave the hint to use a higher resolution; 300 pixels/inch or higher so you might want to change that setting. :)

Next we want to download the grid here, save it somewhere convenient and just drag and drop it onto the canvas. This should create an extra layer on top of the background with the grid and character inventories. You can rename the layer by double clicking the name. 

You should have something like this now:

Now you're all set to go. Just one more thing: make sure when you add new layers the grid is always on top, that way it won't get obstructed.

Color