Professor Nader "Welcome to the URealms Forums! Please make sure to read the rules before posting!
Your posting ability may be restricted for the first 24 hours!"

New to roleplaying and bad at improv

I'm new to roleplaying and it's hard to make up a character story so quickly! So far I've played three games and tried to go into them all with some idea of a character, so I'm not floundering around trying to think up some sort of story on the spot. But cornerstones and attributes well... I wouldn't say mess them up but change them in a fun way that makes me try and come up with a new character that fits them. Do any of you have any tips that could help a new pleb with making up a character?

PS: I'm not sure if this is the right section because it's for gms, so tell me if there is a better spot for it.

Comments

• I feel like this is an okay spot since as a GM, you're basically improvising 24/7 since how are you supposed to know someone is going to roll a nat 20.

Normally, I wouldn't offical say "I'm going to make an insane wizard!" Since I know for a fact I might get a slap across the face by the attribute and cornerstone that tells me, "Actually, you're a caretaker." What you should do is wait for your attribute and cornerstone since what you usually do is pick your race first and then attribute and cornerstones come into play. (May vary on GM, but that's offical way if I remember.) As such, once you get them you should then decide what fun character you're going to do. Normally I wouldn't recommend going all out with a backstory since you might find that one item in the shop that might suddenly change you.

Tl;Dr
    Don't rush for backstory, make it up as you go.
    Leaving it to after you're done is a recommended idea, but you don't have to.

(Also if I mess anything up or sound confusing, forgive me. It's 6:45 AM and I've been doing too much prep work. :P )